Welcome

Welcome to the Amateur Horologist.  My name is Will, a 23 year old working in Washington DC and a 3rd generation lover of watches.  You may ask why someone with no industry connections and no journalistic experience (as my writing style will no doubt illustrate in coming blog posts) would want to create a watch blog in a world filled with excellent watch blogs already (if you doubt that, try visiting hodinkee.com or quillandpad.com).  I think the answer lies in the question asked.

Those sites are excellent and I spend an inordinate amount of time each day on them, but they offer a very specific perspective.  These are experts who have dedicated their lives (or much of their lives) to learning about watches, watchmakers, and watch brands.  They bring their readers in depth knowledge on every new release and every auction and they do so incredibly well.  They are the Roger Ebert’s of the watch world.  I, on the other hand, aspire to be the Rotten tomatoes of the watch world.

My goal with this blog is three-fold:

  1. I want to dumb down the mechanical world of horology so us amateurs can not only enjoy the mechanical watches we wear, but understand how they work.  I am no expert on the mechanics of watches, but I’m not looking to give an experts description.  I want to arm you all with the ability to answer the question “Why is the second hand on your watch not ticking” in a way that is sure to annoy all of your friends.
  2. I want to bring the perspective of someone who can’t buy a $10,000 to the world of mechanical watches.  We can all enjoy fantasizing about owning a case full of Patek Philippes, but I strongly believe there is great value in the world of accessible watches, and I want the blogosphere (note-I will never use that word again on this blog) to pay more attention to it.
  3. Finally, I’m not gonna take away all the fun of high end horology.  I want to indulge in the $100K watches as much as the next guy.  I want to do it differently though.  Where some folks lament the tiny issues like “pusher feel” and “dial cleanness” I want to take some time to marvel at the artistry that is brands like Breguet, Vacheron Constantin, and Patek Philippe.  Sure I may complain sometimes, I’m a millenial (again, you will never see that word used here again), but these are works of art that you can wear, and on top of that they actually do something!  That’s pretty cool

 

So, with that rant out of the way, welcome to The Amateur Horologist.  I hope you all enjoy.

 

-Will

HODINKEE, WATCHES, ABLOGTOWATCH, PATEK, VACHERON, BREGUET, ROLEX, TIMEX, WATCHES, WRISTWATCH, QUILL AND PAD

 

Leave a Reply

